Your local yarn shop

March 26, 2009 at 3:58 pm 6 comments

I buy my yarns from baguio. And since I reside in quezon city, baguio is not really the “local yarn store” for me right?

My new officemate pointed me to “Dreams” yarn store in Glorietta 1 (now located in Glorietta 5 but haven’t gone there yet) and to see if i could finally buy new yarns, i set off to Glorietta, a place i am not familiar with. When I got there, I saw wonderful yarns of various colors and textures and content BUT… the thing is, i dont want to actually buy expensive yarns since, crocheting is my hobby im not so willing to spend much (unlike beading coz i used to earn from it).

Until a fellow crafter who commented on my multiply site pointed me to a “bodega” in Pasig. After bargaining with my beloved, he agreed to accompany me there. 

SO MANY YARNS!!!!

More than what I saw in the stalls of yarn in baguio city.

 

Here’s how to go there:

ALong ortigas ave, beside robinson’s galleria, Take a jeep to Rosario.

Just tell the driver to get you off after the bridge (I paid only p8 so its not a bit far) So after you passed by the first bridge, get off and climb the overpass. Across the street are stalls selling yarns and threads by kilo.

 

😀

Entry filed under: Yarn Stores. Tags: .

Amidst the busy schedule… Happy Hooks

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ianne  |  May 5, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Are you referring to the San Juan Bridge?

    I live in Cainta, there’s this other part of town that is near Rosario but I’m not used to that part… But it’s a breath of fresh air to know that there are stalls selling yarns by the kilo? can’t believe it. I’m new in crocheting and i keep on searching for places to buy cheaper hooks and yarns than those found in malls (cause they’re really pricey)

    anyway, how much does a kilo of yarn costs? thanks.

    Reply
    • 2. ldazo  |  May 6, 2009 at 1:47 am

      Ahm im not really familiar with the place.
      The yarn costs at around 250 to 300 per kilo depending of course on the type of yarn.
      I got a bunch of hooks (bamboo, steel and aluminum, name it) from a friend. He bought them in ebay

      Reply
      • 3. ianne  |  May 6, 2009 at 5:36 pm

        wow. the large skein of red heart multicolored yarn (5 oz) costs P350! that is so expensive compared to the those yarn prices. I really have to get to rosario… wow. thanks.

      • 4. ldazo  |  May 7, 2009 at 1:10 am

        haha.. 🙂
        I lost interest in crocheting just a few months ago since I got an allergy.
        You could visit these in my multiply site so that you could see my old works
        accessorizing_with_crochet
        Pina_-_collada
        crocheted

  • 5. bheng  |  June 27, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Hi, I was planning to go to baguio next month and i read through your blog? any suggestions on where to get yarns there?

    thank you

    Reply
    • 6. ldazo  |  June 27, 2009 at 5:08 pm

      ahm kung alam mo ung hangar market dun un mabibili second floor.. kung nd mo alam, punta ka sa bayan. 🙂
      ask the people there kung panu pumunta dun.. they are kind enough to tell you the directions. hindi ko din kasi kabisado ung way papunta dun. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts


