Drawing Crochet Patterns in Inkscape

August 22, 2009 at 4:33 am 4 comments

Inkscape

Inkscape

Haayy… I’ve been trying to ‘draw’ crochet pattern diagrams using the old fashioned pen and paper. Of course, none worked out as I always end up crumpling the paper afterwards. When I learned how to draw Scalable Vector Graphics (using Inkscape)  it has been useful in my work. From drawing ‘icons’ to logos and skinning user interfaces. I use inkscape for every graphical recreation I need. Since I installed inkscape, I almost have not been using my pen tablet (since it’s not compatible with inkscape) and i can draw in inkscape just using  a mouse. or just the mousepad.

Here are some of my firt svg’s:

Some of Scalable Vector Graphics I drew in inkscape

Now since I’m fed up with trying to draw crochet patterns, and when it dawned on me that i could actually use inkscape, I’ve been trying (again) to master inkscape and draw stitch diagrams. So far, I am improving, and i have somehow found the technique on creating stitch diagrams. So as a ‘yehey’! to this newly acquired skill, I am giving away my instructions on recreating the winter solace bolero.

Creating Crochet Pattern Diagram in Inkscape

Creating Crochet Pattern Diagram in Inkscape

For those of you who are curious about this crochet pattern,click here :) Disclaimer: I am no pro in writing down isntructions. Much more, I admit I am not also good in following one. This instructions are here just to share what i have learned so far in this field. Feel free to write down comments/corrections.

Entry filed under: Bolero, Instructions, Pattern, Thoughts about Crochet. Tags: , .

Winter Solace Bolero – Pattern and Instructions Things to do with a crocheted chain – voodoo doll head

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jinky  |  August 25, 2009 at 5:12 am

    hi imeng,
    awesome job!, now I’m curious about inkscape… how did you create the stitches?
    I am also planning on making a bolero for myself, before the year ends, but first, I still need to finish my daughter’s pullover and a a vest for hubby.
    take care.

    Reply
    • 2. ldazo  |  August 25, 2009 at 8:02 am

      :) the stitch diagrams are just a bunch of regular shapes and lines :)
      u’ll get me once u started inkscape. :) I’ll help you on the techniques once you’ve started :D godbless to both of us

      Reply
  • 3. sheng  |  May 6, 2011 at 7:40 am

    Hello there, I just started this addictive crocheting. I am looking for a supplier of hook sets and yarns, until I found your site. Do you have any idea how can I contact those suppliers you mention. By the way Im @ Bohol, there’s not much supplies I needed here. Thanks and am excited for your reply.

    Reply
    • 4. ldazo  |  August 2, 2011 at 12:52 pm

      hi dear i buy my yarns (well most of my yarns abroad) :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

